Citrix License Management Console error: “You did not authenticate correctly. Please try again or contact your system administrator”


I was troubleshooting a Citrix installation manager package installation that was stuck in a pending, then paused state.  The job results window showed the server’s status as PAUSED (server not licensed).  

I tried opening the Citrix License Management Console, but received the following error:
 
“You did not authenticate correctly. Please try again or contact your system administrator”
 
I knew my co-worker just recently installed an updated license server for our MetaFrame Presentation Server 4.0 farm.  I looked at the \Program Files\Citrix\licensing\LMC\Tomcat\conf\tomcat-users.xml file, and saw only my co-worker was listed.  My account, and the local administrator account were nowhere to be found.
 
To give myself access I copied/pasted the following line:
 
<user username=”MYDOMAIN\JDoe” password=”” fullName=”John Doe LMC” roles=”lmc-access-role,lmc-current-usage-role,lmc-historical-usage-role,lmc-configuration-role,lmc-user-admin-role”/>
 
and edited it to reflect my name and credentials.  I saved the tomcat-users.xml file, and was able to successfully open the Citrix License Management Console.

Leave a Reply

