Fix: HTTP Error 413: Request Entity Too Large on Blackberry


I was attempting to load a rather large web page on my Blackberry today, and received  the following error:

 HTTP Error 413: Request Entity Too Large on Blackberry
 
Here’s how I fixed it.
 
  1. Open Blackberry Manager, selected the affected Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES).
  2. Highlight servername_MDS-CS_1
  3. Select the Connections Tab and click Edit Properties > General > Flow Control
  4. Increase the KB/Connection setting (maximum is 1024, or 1MB)
  5. Restart the Blackberry MDS Connection Service
 
I was then able to view the large web page on my Blackberry.

20 Responses to “Fix: HTTP Error 413: Request Entity Too Large on Blackberry”

  1. Dale Says:

    >I was then able to view the large web page on my Blackberry.

    While it is true that fixes the majority of cases, you’ll still get some 413 errors with that 1024 setting.

    Opera Mini seems to work well in those edge cases, but it’s not for everyone, as it doesn’t do truly secure SSL.

  2. Dave D Says:

    Finally got to the right person at Verizon and I downloaded the browser Opera Mini. It’s a little klunky but I was able to access a web site that I could not access with the Blackberry browser and a lot of work with two Verizon techs.

  3. Jeff Says:

    This fix resolved the issue on the older Blackberry Professional Software v4.1 installed on our SBS 2003 server. Thanks.

  4. ABDUL Says:

    where do i find blackberry manager on my storm 9530

    • Julie Says:

      You need to download it

      http://na.blackberry.com/eng/services/desktop/

      -Julie

  5. ABDUL Says:

    Thank you so much Julie

  6. Abdul Says:

    Hi Julie I can’t find it on desktop manager its shows media,application loader, backup, device switch and synchronize. Where will I find affected blackberry enterprise

  7. Mike Says:

    Thanks, worked like a charm! Mike

  8. abdul Says:

    it dont work mike. can you explain it to me?

  9. Simon Says:

    Per Julie’s instruction I download the Blackberry manager but same question as Abdul, Where will I find affected blackberry enterprise??

    Thanks for your help

  10. Izzy Says:

    I have the same problem. I thought it was just our work application but it sounds like I have the same software as Simon and Abdul. I have a Bold 9700 and my Blackberry Desktop Manager is version 5.0. It has media ,application loader, backup, device switch, email and synchronize.

  11. Dan Says:

    Same problem. I have desktop manager v4.6. How do we find the relevant menu? Thanks.

  12. Dimitri Says:

    I have the same issue on my 9700. How do we get around it?

  13. Jacobe Says:

    Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES) is a different program that companies pay for and use to control the phones under the company. It is different then Blackberry Manager that comes with the phones, so the two are unrelated and thats why you can’t find the right menus.

  14. Dan Says:

    Looks like newest available version of desktop manager is v5.0.1.

    Will an upgrade from 4.6 to v5.0.1 reveal the appropriate menu? This is killing me.

    – Dan

  15. Matt Says:

    How do I do this on BES v5.0? they changed everything!

    • Julie Says:

      Not sure, we are still on BES 4.1.6!

  16. Tim Says:

    Found the settings on BES 5

    In the BlackBerry® Administration Service, on the Servers and components menu, expand BlackBerry Solution topology > BlackBerry Domain > Component view > BlackBerry MDS Connection Service.
    Click the instance that you want to change.
    Click Edit component.
    On the General tab, in the Flow control section, in the Maximum data amount permitted per connection (KB) field, type a number, in KB.
    Click Save all.

    Hop this helps others

  17. John Says:

    tim how do i get to the Administration Service????

  18. BES: HTTP Error 413 - Zytel KB Says:

    […] Restart the Blackberry MDS Connection Service I was then able to view the large web page on my Blackberry. http://thebackroomtech.com/2009/06/23/fix-http-error-413-request-entity-too-large-on-blackberry/ […]


Leave a Reply

