FIX: Faulting application gwpoa.exe, version 7.0.3.1068, faulting module gwwww1a.dll


I sure hope I don’t jinx myself for considering this issue resolved…

My five Windows 2003 R2 SP2 / Groupwise 7.0.3HP1 servers have each been receiving the following errors since they were migrated from the Netware operating system back in December of 2008:

Event ID: 1000 Source: Application Error

Faulting application gwpoa.exe, version 7.0.3.1068, faulting module gwwww1a.dll, version 7.0.3.1068, fault address 0x000b2379.Event ID: 1004  Source: Application Error 

AND  

 

Event ID: 1004 Source: Application Error
Reporting queued error: faulting application gwpoa.exe, version 7.0.3.1068, faulting module gwwww1a.dll, version 7.0.3.1068, fault address 0x000b2379. 

The event 1000 would result in the POA service stopping.  I was able to temporarily minimize the impact of the POA stoppage by running the POA as a service and having it’s recovery options set to restart the service ater the failure was detected by the OS.

I noticed that the Groupwise 7 SP3 Hot Patch 2 contained an updated gwwww1a.dll, but this particular issue was not listed as a fix in the change log.  I had been hesitant to apply GW703HP2 because it caused a great headache when I applied it to my GWIA server.  I finally decided to try HP2 on my post office servers, and was plesantly suprised to find it (seemingly) has resolved my POA crash issue!  I’ll post back if I find varied results, or new issues caused by this hot patch.

Leave a Reply

