Fix: Intel PROSet for Windows Device Manager missing tabs


I’ve been building some new Dell PowerEdge 1950 servers for a new deployment running Windows Server 2003 SP2.  I had originally configured the servers to use the integrated Broadcom NICs, but wanted to change to my new Intel Quad Port VT 1000 PCIe card.  I went with the quad port since I was planning on doing some teaming/link aggregation, and have always had sporadic at best luck with the Broadcoms.  My server only had one free slot for the NIC, and since a dual port card was not available I had to go with the quad port.

Intel PROSet is traditionally configured through a Control Panel applet, but the current version is integrated directly into the NIC configuration, so it can be setup inside Windows Device Manager.  

I RDP’d into the server using the Broadcom NIC’s IP address, installed the intel drivers from the Dell support site, accessed the NIC inside Device Manager, and saw the four tabs I was used to seeing.  After a server reboot, I still saw the usual four tabs in device manager and no Advanced Network Services (ANS) configuration for PROSet.
 
I tried a different driver off the Dell site, which still did not allow me to view the ANS settings.  I moved onto drivers directly from Intel, but my situation did not change despite uninstalling, rebooting, and reinstalling the drivers.
 
I finally ran up to the data center and physically moved the cables from the Broadcom NIC to the Intel NIC.  Since the Intel NICs did not have the static IP assigned to them like the Broadcom did, and I had no idea what address DHCP had assigned to them, I accessed the server via the DRAC remote access card.  When I went into Device Manager I could see the additional ANS tabs that would allow me to configure the teaming!
 
I disconnected from the DRAC and reconnected via RDP.  No teaming options appeared.  I then connected to the server console by running mstsc /console, and the teaming options were there!
 
The moral of the story appears to be you must be connected to the server console in order to see the PROSet ANS settings inside Device Manager.  I assume this is so administrators do not accidently lock themselves out of the server when remotely configuring the NICs.

20 Responses to “Fix: Intel PROSet for Windows Device Manager missing tabs”

  1. Bryan Kerwin Says:

    Thank you! I was banging my head against the wall trying to figure out where my missing tabs were.

  2. Jacob Says:

    Thank you very much! Like the other poster, I was stumped as to why I couldn’t see the tabs. This saved me a lot of time troubleshooting!

  3. Ryan Says:

    Good catch! I was just trying to figure this out the other day. Never thought to actually walk the 10 feet to my server.

    Hope everything is going well.

  4. Jason Says:

    Epitome of “it’s not a bug, it’s a feature”…. I’m betting those guys who are RDP’ing into machine thousands of miles away are really incredibly pleased with this “feature”.

  5. Mario Says:

    Unfortunately this hasn’t solved the problem for me…

    2 X 2 HP DL360 Servers running Windows 2003 – Unable to see Tabs. This occurs even if I mstsc / console or run directly on the console…

    Same adaptor cards and drivers on a PC running Windows XP – No problem locally or remotely!!!

    I’ll keep looking for a fix to my issue and will post back a resolution if I find one…

  6. MattB Says:

    Wow, Thanks. That had me going cross-eyed for ages 🙂

  7. Matt Says:

    If you have the latest version of Remote Desktop, you have to change your shortcut to mstsc /admin. The /console option no longer exists.

  8. eric Says:

    RDP connected to the console did not work for me, fortunatly dameware worked like a champ. 3 cheers to Julie for solving that!!!!

  9. B Dubs Says:

    You the man!!

  10. Gary Says:

    Or run the following regedit fix file:

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\AppID\{2FFC9647-1BA1-464E-B675-4FFBC6E31B7B}]
    @=”NCS2Prov”
    “RunAs”=-

    (Basically remove the “RunAs” entry.)

  11. Jason Says:

    There is a fix that will allow you to see the options through RDP. Jus tfollow this below for your OS and you no longer need a console.

    Solution:
    Change the default user account from “interactive user” to a user with administrative rights.

    For Windows* 2000:
    On the target system, click the Start menu and click Run.
    Type “dcomcnfg” in the text field, click OK. The DCOM configuration properties window will open.
    In the Applications tab, highlight NCS2Prov and click Properties.
    In the NCS2Prov Properties window, click the Identify tab. Change the user account to “the launching user”
    Click OK to exit the NCS2Prov Properties window. Click OK to exit DCOM configuration.
    For Windows* XP and Windows* 2003 Server:

    On the target system, click the Start menu and click Run.
    Type dcomcnfg in the text field and click OK. The Component Services Console Root window will open.
    In the left pane, double-click Component Services, Computers, My Computer, and DCOM Config.
    In either pane, right-click NCS2Prov and select Properties. The DCOM configuration properties window will open.
    In the NCS2Prov Properties window, click the Identify tab. Change the user account to “the launching user.”
    Click OK to exit the NCS2Prov Properties window. Close the Component Services window.

  12. MetroCS Says:

    After working on this for a while because it’s not possible to have physical access for all my systems.
    This issue is ANS uses COM+/DCOM and it’s default security rights only allows access from a “interactive user”

    I found the following solution on the Intel Website:

    http://www.intel.com/support/network/sb/cs-020166.htm

    Change the default user account from “interactive user” to a user with administrative rights.

    For Windows* 2000:

    On the target system, click the Start menu and click Run.
    Type “dcomcnfg” in the text field, click OK. The DCOM configuration properties window will open.
    In the Applications tab, highlight NCS2Prov and click Properties.
    In the NCS2Prov Properties window, click the Identify tab. Change the user account to “the launching user”
    Click OK to exit the NCS2Prov Properties window. Click OK to exit DCOM configuration.

    For Windows* XP and Windows* 2003 Server:

    On the target system, click the Start menu and click Run.
    Type dcomcnfg in the text field and click OK. The Component Services Console Root window will open.
    In the left pane, double-click Component Services, Computers, My Computer, and DCOM Config.
    In either pane, right-click NCS2Prov and select Properties. The DCOM configuration properties window will open.
    In the NCS2Prov Properties window, click the Identify tab. Change the user account to “the launching user.”
    Click OK to exit the NCS2Prov Properties window. Close the Component Services window.

  13. Vincent Says:

    Thank you!! I just spent a considerable part of my morning trying to figure out what was going on and why the usual teaming software was not there!!! I will pass this along.

  14. Michael Says:

    Thanks a load guys… i reinstalled the intel software about 5 times and it was driving me crazy!

    (who came up with that “feature”???)

  15. NM Says:

    That is absolutely friggin absurd. I had an enterprise support ticket open with Dell trying to figure out why the dell package drivers weren’t working on the intel 10gb nics. And no mention of this? They couldn’t leave a tab saying “Not available – open from local console” ?? Bloody amazing.

    Thanks for the post – appreciated.

  16. Muhammad Khan Says:

    Great post. Thanks a bunch.

  17. Brian Says:

    Thank you,

    made me feel stupid but at the same time saved my butt.

  18. Brian Says:

    I was another stumped person. Wasted hours on this and it never crossed my mind to remote desktop to console.

    Thanks

  19. Noof Says:

    OMG, thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

  20. Jay Says:

    Wow, thanks dude, been banging my head on the wall for 2 days about this one! Why can’t they just include that in the README.txt file? Sheesh!!!


Leave a Reply

