Howto: Export Groupwise Classes of Service and SMTP Relay Rules


Okay, maybe the title of this post is a bit misleading.

I’m in the process of upgrading my organization’s Groupwise from 6.5.5 to 7.0.3.  I wanted to create a new GWIA object during the upgrade so I could fall back to the previous version if something went awry.

I has one daunting problem that stood in my way – the crazy amounts of Classes of Service that are used, along with a wide array of SMTP relay rules.  I knew I could recreate the rules by hand, but the sheer volume of entries meant I was looking at several hours of manual labor, hoping I didn’t typo on any of the entries.

I looked for a method to export these settings, but couldn’t find one.  I did some research and found out these settings are kept in GWIA’s gwac.db file.  I tried viewing the contents of this database file with notepad and a few free database viewers, but either I never found the right viewer or the contents are encrypted.

I finally found a suggestion that said to copy the gwac.db file from the old GWIA’s installation directory to the new GWIA’s installation directory, then validate and recover the database.  I did that, and all my access control rules appeared in ConsoleOne – Classes of Service, SMTP Relay, you name it.

Everything is running fine now, and using a Grouwpise 6.5 gwac.db file on a Groupwise 7.0.3 server doesn’t seem to be an issue.

Leave a Reply

