Fix: Groupwise 6.5 won’t install on SLES 10 SP2


I was trying to perform a new Groupwise installation on SLES 10 SP2 servers on Friday, but when I ran the install script, nothing seemed to happen.  I’d run the install script, but nothing ever appeared on the console that gave me any indication that the installer was actually running.

I took a look at the install script, which actually called another install script located in the /gwinst directory. I tried running that install script by hand, and received the following errors:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “install.py”, line 2, in ?
import frontend, sys
File “frontend.py”, line 4, in ?
File “utils.py”, line 3, in ?
ImportError: librpm-4.2.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

I searched for a librpm-4.2.so file, but didn’t find one on my systems.  I did find a librpm-4.4.so file though.  I created a symbolic link to the file in the /usr/lib directory by using the following syntax:

ln –s librpm-4.4.so librpm-4.2.so

I ran the install script again, but this time it complained about another file, librpmbuild-4.2.so.  To make a long story short, I ended up creating symbolic links to the following files before I was able to get Groupwise to install

  1. ln –s librpm-4.4.so librpm-4.2.so

  2. ln –s librpmbuild-4.4.so librpmbuild-4.2.so

  3. ln –s librpmdb-4.4.so librpmdb-4.2.so

  4. ln –s librpmio-4.4.so librpmio-4.2.so

I could only get Groupwise to install using the script located in the /gwinst directory.  For some reason, the regular install script never worked.

Leave a Reply

