IE7: How to stop http://runonce.msn.com/runonce2.aspx from loading every time IE is started


Every time I launch IE7 the Internet Explorer customization screen, http://runonce.msn.com/runonce2.aspx, has been displayed instead of the three home pages I specified in Tools – Internet Options. I had completed the whole customization processs many times, but Internet Explorer never seemed to remember the settings.

IE7 runonce

I found this thread that pointed me in the right direction for fixing this problem. To fix the problem, edit the following registry keys, or create them if they do not exist:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main]
“RunOnceComplete”=dword:00000001
“RunOnceHasShown”=dword:00000001

Once I made the registry changes and restarted IE, all was good. My home page opened up as expected.

This site also has five different ways of deploying this change, from scripts to a small executable file.

[updated 02-06-2008]

Updated broken link to five different ways of deploying this change

34 Responses to “IE7: How to stop http://runonce.msn.com/runonce2.aspx from loading every time IE is started”

  1. Dilantha Says:

    I remove the thread. but didn’t work dude 😦

  2. Dilantha Says:

    This works !!

    Method 2:
    Create a BAT/CMD file with Notepad with the following contents and save as RunOnceDone.cmd. Double click on RunOnceDone.cmd.

    REG ADD HKCU”\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main” /v RunOnceComplete /t REG_DWORD /d 00000001 /f
    REG ADD HKCU”\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main” /v RunOnceHasShown /t REG_DWORD /d 00000001 /f

  3. Gokalp Says:

    also its has to be work

    Click Start > Run and type “gpedit.msc”
    Click OK.
    at left side
    -User Configuration
    -Administrative Templates
    -Windows Components
    -Internet Explorer
    at the right side double click at “Prevent performance of First Run Customize settings”
    change the settings for “Prevent performance of First Run Customize settings” to Enabled and drop-down box to select “Go directly to home page”

    -click OK , close Group Policy
    -Restart Internet Explorer 7

  4. Mohamed Says:

    Thank you Gokalp, it succeeded and my original homepage worked .

  5. TAPAS Says:

    I followed the process as mentioned over here and it worked. Thanks a lot.

  6. isabelle g, watson Says:

    i want to have this program removed from my internet.
    How do I go about getting it removed?
    Please e-mail me as quickly as possible as it has messed
    my programming up.

  7. Steven Says:

    This worked fine for me.

    Cheers mate

  8. Fred Says:

    I only had one of the values. When I added the second, no problem anymore. Thanks.

  9. Tom Mathew Says:

    I was getting irritated with this error poping alsways when explorer opend. Thanks a lot. It worked for me and it was symple to make the change.

  10. Trung Says:

    I just used the method 2 and it worked.

    Thanks a lot

  11. Hu1112 Says:

    THANK YOU Gokalp!!!! IT WORKS!!! and you made my day!

  12. Danny Says:

    WORKED LIKE A CHARM!!!

  13. Chris Says:

    I added the two lines to the registry…restarted the computer and no longer is it going to the runonce…Thanks!

    -Chris

  14. Todd Says:

    I also had problem with runonce error. I contacted microsoft support at 800-936-5700 (support for IE7 is free), and they told me to go to: http://norun.notlong.com/ and then save to desktop and run. This worked instantly and is the best way to fix runonce error.

  15. Candy Says:

    Thank you Gokalp!! Finally something that worked!!

  16. theSEKIman Says:

    Todd, thank your very much, that’s awesome!

  17. Amol Nirmala Waman Says:

    Thanks Gokalp and Todd! I overcome the microsoft’s bad habit!

  18. mitch Says:

    Thanks Gokalp it work. Phewww.

  19. Nata Says:

    To Todd!

    I tried Gokalp’s fix – and my computer did not find “gpedit.msc”.
    Todd’s fix worked like a charm. Thank you!

  20. Randy Says:

    I added the 2 registry keys suggested and everything worked fine after that. Thanks a million!
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main]
    “RunOnceComplete”=dword:00000001
    “RunOnceHasShown”=dword:00000001

  21. Ashutosh Says:

    Thank you Gokalp, it succeeded.

  22. Andrew Says:

    Gokalp – if you wanted to push this out via Group Policy do you need to install IE7 onto the Domain Controller or does someone know of a resource kit that can be downloaded?

  23. John Says:

    Thank you Gokalp. It works fine.

  24. dave Says:

    Todd.
    I have tried your simpler solution (http://norun.notlong.com) and it worked. Thanks to all who help us non IT people. IE7 now opens on specified home page and the annoying Runonce2 has disappeared, once and for all.
    Thanks.
    Note: http://norun.notlong.com has to be typed into browser/search window, save and run and it will ask if you want to put into registry (twice it will ask) press ok each time and it will automatically finish/complete for you. You will not see Runonce2 again. Its really simple.
    Thanks TODD.

  25. Kreed Says:

    My problem started with run once so I switched to Mozilla, but my quickbooks wont work on downloads so i went back to IE and it seems certain pages don’t show the content even though in the bar it shows for ex. waiting for 5 images to download. It downloads them says done but the screen is blank. I think that is why my QB can’t load its page. Please help!

  26. Hector Says:

    Thank u, Gokalp. It works great………

  27. Aditya Prabhu Says:

    THIS IS WORKING DUDEssss….

    very simple also…..

    Click Start > Run and type “gpedit.msc”
    Click OK.
    at left side
    -User Configuration
    -Administrative Templates
    -Windows Components
    -Internet Explorer
    at the right side double click at “Prevent performance of First Run Customize settings”
    change the settings for “Prevent performance of First Run Customize settings” to Enabled and drop-down box to select “Go directly to home page”

    -click OK , close Group Policy
    -Restart Internet Explorer 7

  28. Gert Says:

    The exe on the site you’re linking to is infected with a Trojan, according to AVG.

  29. Bobber Says:

    Thanks!!! the Runoncedone.cmd script worked! thank you, thank you, thank you

  30. xnavyman Says:

    Thanks Todd, that worked like a charm. Damm runonce should be banned from the service.
    Once again thanks.

  31. tazgirl_68 Says:

    Thanks you very much. I had to remove Google tool bar for it to completely work but it worked. Now I am able to use IE-7

  32. Interent Explorer 7 i 6 razem. | Serwis4U Says:

    […] pomysł jak to zrobić znalazłem tutaj. Jeśli nie masz ochoty “grzebać” się w Rejestrze Windows możesz […]

  33. IT Werks Says:

    I simply put runonce.msn.com in the ‘Restricted Sites’ security zone in Internet Options and that solved it for me. Just block IE from going to that subdomain I guess.

    Worked for me – hope that helps someone!

  34. Manoj Says:

    Thanks Gokalp .. It really worked


Leave a Reply

