Howto: Updating motherboard BIOS from an Unsupported Operating System


I’ve had my NFORCE4M-A motherboard for a while now, and it has taken forever to boot since I put 64 bit Windows Vista Business on the machine.  It’s boot up wasn’t exactly blazing fast with Windows XP, but now it takes over a minute just to POST.  I’m not exactly sure why the OS would affect the POST, but the chipset drivers I’m using are from back in 2005, and are not described as Vista compatible. 

I decided to try flashing the BIOS to see if that made any difference.  I downloaded the installer program from the ECS website, and when I tried to execute it, I was told I couldn’t flash the motherboard because I was running an unsupported OS.

There was no way I was going to install XP on the machine just so I could flash it, so I set that project on the back burner for a few days to think about it.  I finally got an idea – boot from my Ultimate Boot CD, which is based on Bart’s PE, which is Windows XP pre-install environment. 

This UBCD allows you to access the NTFS file system just like you would if you booted from your hard drive.  I fired up WinFlash, browsed to the BIOS update file stored on my hard drive, and flashed the BIOS with no problem. 

Unfortunately, the update didn’t fix my problem. If anyone has any ideas, please let me know.

One Response to “Howto: Updating motherboard BIOS from an Unsupported Operating System”

  1. Carlo Says:

    I once had the same problem with one of my boards. It was constantly looking for new hard drives that may have been added, so I turned it off. Just a thought, hope it helps


Leave a Reply

