Howto: Patch an OES Linux server after a new installation using the Red Carpet (rug) command line


Before you do anything else, if you’re running an OES version prior to SP2, make sure you prepare the OES server for patching. A Cool Tool is available to make this process easier. If you are running OES SP2, read TID3045794 for an overview of the process.

That being said, I have a brand new OES SP2 Linux server, and couldn’t easily figure out how to patch it using Red Carpet’s rug from the console. The documentation made patching sound so easy, but I kept getting activation not found errors.

After doing some searching I came across TID10097537, the OES Red Carpet FAQ that helped me through the activation process, which is a prerequisite for being able to download and install the patches.

The process I followed was:

From the console (as root), I typed

rug set rollback=true

to enable the ability to rollback to a previous patch version. Next, to view my services I typed

rug service-list

The OES service was not listed, so I added it by typing

rug sa https://update.novell.com/data

Next,

rug service-list

showed me that the OES service was number 1 in the list, so I activated the service by typing

rug act -s service-list-number MyActivationCode MyEmailAddress

The activation code is case sensitive. If you don’t have an activation code, check out the instructions here regarding how to get one.

Once my server was activated, I needed to subscribe to the OES patch channel. I did so by first listing the available channels

rug ch

If the channels still don’t appear after activation, see TID10098375 for the fix.

Both the oes and oes-edir88 channels were available, so I subscribed to them by typing

rug sub oes

rug sub oes-edir88

Now that I was subscribed to my two channels, I listed the available patches by typing

rug pl

437 patches were available, but since I’m on a network that has 5 T-1s with almost no utilization today, I decided to download and install them all by typing

rug pin –entire-channel oes

rug pin –entire-channel oes-edir88

Then I waited for the process to complete, and to avoid unwanted memory consumption after using the Red Carpet client I typed

rug set max-allowed-memory 40

Once you see transaction finished, I like to reboot the server and verify the patches didn’t break anything, but this is not mandatory. To do this quickly from the console, type

shutdown -r now

Also check /var/log/messages and the logs located in /var/log/rcd for any errors.

One quick note: prior to OES SP2, rug should always be used to apply patches rather than the Red Carpet GUI. See the section labeled Should I use rug (command line interface) or Red-Carpet (gui interface) to manage updates?

If you have problems installing OES patches, see TID3739116 for an updated Red Carpet daemon or TID10100002, Troubleshooting the OES SP2 Patch Process. Additional information can also be found at TID3377050, the Guide to Patching Novell Linux Products.

One Response to “Howto: Patch an OES Linux server after a new installation using the Red Carpet (rug) command line”

  1. the back room tech OES Linux: YaST Install and Remove Software hangs at Checking Dependencies « Says:

    […] Last week I completed a fresh install of Novell’s OES Linux from the SP2 .iso CDs, and used rug to update the server with all the available patches. I needed to install NSS, so I went into YaST to add the software, […]


Leave a Reply

